Gurdwara Management Committee

There is no overall organization that is responsible for all the Gurdwaras in the UK or even throughout the world. Instead the sangat (congregation) from each Gurdwara elects a Management Committee that will have executive responsibility for the day to day management of the Gurdwara in accordance with the Sikh Code of Practice.

The committee is also responsible for the appointment of the Granthi, the custodian of the Guru Granth Sahib Ji. This is because Sikhism does not have priests as they were abolished by Guru Gobind Singh Ji. Any Sikh is free to read the Guru Granth Sahib Ji in the Gurdwara or in their home.

The present committee was elected in May 2012 and it’s term of office will end in May 2014.

Members of the committee include:

President S. Kuldeep Singh Dulay
Assistant President S. Ranbir Singh Rai
General Secretary S. Govinder Singh Dhallwal
Assistant General Secretary S. Sadhu Singh Chhokar
Treasurer S. Ravinder Singh
Assistant Treasurer S. Gurjit Singh Toor
Assistant Treasurer S. Prem Singh
Stage Secretary S. Kashmir Singh Ghuman
Assistant Stage Secretaries S. Rashpal Singh
Education and Social Secretary S. Gurbax Kaur Mann
Kitchen In Charge S. Gian Kaur Purewal
Building In Charge S. Jhalman SIngh Dula
Jathedar S. Sarbant Singh Dosanjh
Ajit Singh Gill
Auditor S. Sewa SIngh Atta
Health and Safety S. Kuldeep Singh Kullar
S. Gurmaj SIngh Bath